Skip to content
TexasMoving inChecked Oct 14, 2026

Can you get electricity turned on today in Texas?

Usually, yes, if you beat the clock. Here are 12 companies’ own same-day cut-offs, the days same-day service stops, and a checker that runs on Central time.

Compare plans in your ZIPPartner toolWe may earn a fee if you sign up.
Published 13 min readBy The Day Company review team · How we verify figures
6:30 p.m.Latest cut-off we found
No SundaysOr holidays, for smart-meter move-ins
Short answer

Usually, yes. As of October 14, 2026, 12 Texas electricity companies post same-day cut-offs on their own sites, from 2 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Central. Sign up before yours. Sundays and holidays don’t count. You need a smart meter the utility can switch on remotely. A crew visit is slower and can cost extra.

What do you need right now?
Compare plans at my new ZIP

A partner runs the plan finder. If you sign up, it may pay us a fee, and that never moves a rating or a score.

Thursday, Nov. 26 and Friday, Dec. 25, 2026: Thanksgiving and Christmas. Oncor’s tariff doesn’t count holidays as smart-meter move-in days, and every company here that lists its days skips them. Moving that week? Sign up a day early.
Can you get power on today?

Three things decide it: the clock, the calendar and your meter.

  1. Sign up before your company’s cut-off (2 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Central).
  2. Make sure it’s Monday to Saturday and not a holiday.
  3. Check that your meter can be switched on remotely.
Check my cut-off now →
6:30 p.m.Latest same-day cut-off we found (TXU and 4Change, smart meters)
2 p.m.Earliest: Gexa and Frontier, weekdays only
7 p.m.Oncor’s own deadline for a remote move-in that day
$75Most a prepaid plan can ask you to start (state rule)

Built on public data from 12 electricity companies’ own same-day pages, Oncor’s delivery tariff, the state’s Power to Choose plan list and complaint scorecard, and the Public Utility Commission’s rules, including 16 TAC §25.498 on prepaid service. Checked October 14, 2026.

01 · The checker

Can I still get power turned on today?

The checker compares any day and time with 12 companies’ same-day cut-offs, read October 14, 2026, in Central time. Pick your area and meter to see which ones you can still beat.

CheckingMonday at noon Central
Your meter

A smart meter can be switched on from the utility’s office. If yours can’t, a crew has to come.

Need a plan with no credit check?
Your answer Yes, today is still possible All 12 company cut-offs are still open. The last one closes at 6:30 p.m.
  • Until 2 p.m.: Gexa Energy, Frontier Utilities (2 h left)
  • Until 3:30 p.m.: BKV Energy (3 h 30 min left)
  • Until 5 p.m.: Now Power (5 h left)
  • Until 6 p.m.: Payless Power, Pogo Energy, Reliant, Discount Power, Cirro Energy, Direct Energy (6 h left)
  • Until 6:30 p.m.: 4Change Energy, TXU Energy (6 h 30 min left)

Plans and prices differ by address, so check yours when you sign up.

If a credit check goes badly, the deposit can reach $360 at a $150 monthly bill. It can be due before your power goes on.

The checker uses each company’s own cut-off, read October 14, 2026, and the utility’s move-in days. When a company doesn’t name a time zone, we use Central. Areas come from Power to Choose and the companies’ own sites. The deposit figure is the state’s cap (16 TAC §25.478), using your bill for every month. Nothing you enter is saved or sent anywhere.

See plans that fit my usage

Partner toolWe may earn a fee if you sign up. It never changes our scores.

The checker can’t see your address, so it can’t promise an hour. Payless Power’s FAQ puts a typical hookup at 1 to 6 hours with a remote-ready smart meter. Pogo Energy says it often has power on within a few hours.

Next: every company’s cut-off, side by side →

02 · Cut-off times

What time do you have to sign up for same-day electricity?

Same-day cut-offs run from 2 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Central. On October 14, 2026, 6 p.m. was the most common, used by 6 of the 12 companies. Miss yours, and your start moves to the company’s next working day.

Same-day cut-offs, from each company’s own site

Same-day sign-up cut-offs and PUCT complaint scores for 12 Texas electricity companies, from each company’s own website, read October 14, 2026, and the PUCT’s September 2026 scorecard
CompanyCut-offDaysCredit and upfrontCallPUCT score
TXU EnergySmart (AMS) meters only6:30 p.m.*Not stated“Flexible deposit options”888-228-11445 of 5
4Change EnergySmart (AMS) meters, per its plan pages; its FAQ still says sign up by 2 p.m., or call by 5 p.m. for a priority request6:30 p.m.*Mon–Sat; no Sundays or holidaysNot stated on its plan pages(855) 784-24263 of 5
ReliantSmart meter, weather permitting6 p.m.Mon–Sat; no Sundays or holidaysPrepaid plans: “typically no credit checks”1-866-222-71004 of 5
Cirro EnergySmart meter needed6 p.m.Mon–Sat; no holidaysTold at sign-up if a deposit applies1-844-358-31332 of 5
Discount PowerSmart meter needed6 p.m.Mon–Sat; no holidaysIts terms: a deposit first if you can’t show good credit1-877-455-46742 of 5
Direct EnergyLate orders: next business day6 p.m.*Not statedOffers prepaid plans with no credit check1-855-461-19264 of 5
Pogo EnergyPrepaid6 p.m.Mon–Sat; no Sundays or holidays$60 to start; no credit check, no deposit888-764-6669Not rated
Payless PowerFund by 6 p.m.; its FAQ says orders after 5 p.m. may be delayed, and its same-day page also lists weekday hours6 p.m.*Mon–Sat; no Sundays or holidaysPrepaid: $40 to start; no deposit, no credit check(866) 963-93531 of 5
Now PowerPrepaid5 p.m.*Mon–Sat; no national holidaysNo credit check, no deposit; a first payment is required844-227-2648Not rated
BKV EnergyApply before 3:30 p.m. CST3:30 p.m.Mon–Fri onlySoft credit check; any deposit is due before service starts1-855-258-47975 of 5
Gexa EnergyExisting meter, weather permitting2 p.m.Mon–Fri onlyCredit check, deposit or a deposit waiver; no same-day prepaid(866) 961-93994 of 5
Frontier Utilities“Charges from the utility may apply”2 p.m.Mon–Fri onlyNot stated on its moving page877-437-74423 of 5

* The company’s page doesn’t name a time zone, so we read it as Central. The rest say Central (or CST). “Days” is what each page says. Read October 14, 2026; confirm your cut-off when you sign up.

PUCT score: the state’s complaint scorecard from September 2026, for March 1 to August 31, 2026. A 5 means the lowest complaint rate per customer. Scores belong to each license holder, so Cirro and Discount Power share one. Pogo Energy and Now Power aren’t on Power to Choose, so they aren’t rated.

Complaint records differ a lot, too. In the PUCT’s September 2026 scorecard, TXU Energy and BKV Energy earned the top score, 5 of 5. Payless Power’s license holder earned 1 of 5, the lowest. Our guide to electricity company complaints explains what the scores measure.

How late you can sign up for same-day power (each bar runs from midnight to the cut-off, Central time)
Oncor (utility)
7 p.m.
2 companies
6:30 p.m.
6 companies
6 p.m.
Now Power
5 p.m.
BKV Energy
3:30 p.m.
2 companies
2 p.m.

6:30 p.m.: TXU and 4Change. 6 p.m.: Reliant, Cirro, Discount Power, Direct Energy, Pogo Energy and Payless Power. 2 p.m.: Gexa and Frontier. The top bar is Oncor’s own deadline for a remote move-in, so every company’s cut-off falls before it. The bars start at midnight.

Which days the 12 companies offer same-day service (smart meters)
  • MonAll 12
  • TueAll 12
  • WedAll 12
  • ThuAll 12
  • FriAll 12
  • Sat6 say yes
  • SunNone

Saturday: Reliant, Cirro, Discount Power, Pogo Energy, Payless Power and Now Power say yes, and 4Change rules out only Sundays and holidays. Gexa, Frontier and BKV Energy say weekdays only. TXU and Direct Energy don’t say. Holidays: none of the companies that list their days offer it.

Two things to know. First, your company’s cut-off comes before the utility’s. Oncor takes same-day remote move-ins until 7 p.m. Central, but your company needs time to send the order. Second, a cut-off isn’t a promise. Payless Power says connection times “are not guaranteed” and can slip for meter issues, switch holds or weather. Reliant, Cirro and Discount Power warn that extra utility charges may apply.

Which of these companies serve your area?

Delivery areas where the 12 same-day companies sell, from Power to Choose and the companies’ own sites, October 14, 2026
CompanyDelivery areasWhere we saw it
TXU, Reliant, Cirro, Discount Power, Direct Energy, Gexa, Frontier, BKV EnergyAll six main areas with choice, Lubbock includedPower to Choose plan list
Payless PowerAll but LubbockPower to Choose plan list
Pogo Energy, Now PowerOncor, CenterPoint, AEP Texas and TNMPTheir own sites; neither lists on Power to Choose
4Change EnergyOncor and CenterPoint confirmedIts own plan pages for Dallas and Houston ZIP codes

Read October 14, 2026. The six main areas with choice are Oncor, CenterPoint, AEP Texas Central, AEP Texas North, TNMP and Lubbock Power & Light. Plans still differ by address, so enter yours when you sign up.

Same-day power in Houston works the same way: your company’s cut-off first, then CenterPoint switches on the meter. Power to Choose, the state’s plan site, lists most of these companies by ZIP code. For prices, see Houston electricity rates or Dallas electricity rates.

Next: what happens after you click sign up →

03 · How it works

How does a same-day move-in work?

Your new company sends a move-in order, and your delivery utility turns the power on. In Oncor’s area, a smart-meter order that arrives by 7 p.m. Central is done that day, with no visit.

  1. 1
    You sign up before the cut-off

    You pick a plan and a start date of today. If you can’t show good credit, the company can ask for a deposit before service starts. Prepaid plans ask for a starting balance instead.

  2. 2
    The company sends a move-in order

    State rules send it to ERCOT, the Texas grid operator (16 TAC §25.474). The order carries the start date you picked.

  3. 3
    Your utility gets the order

    In most areas with choice, that’s Oncor, CenterPoint, AEP Texas or TNMP. In Lubbock, it’s Lubbock Power & Light. Oncor finishes a smart-meter order the same day if it arrives by 7 p.m. Central. Sundays and holidays don’t count.

  4. 4
    The meter is switched on

    A smart meter is turned on by remote command. A meter without that feature needs a crew, which is slower. There’s no set hour. 4Change says power on a chosen date may come on from 8 a.m. to midnight.

A move-in has no 3-day cancel window. When you switch companies, Texas gives you three federal business days to back out. The rule says that right “is not applicable” to a move-in (16 TAC §25.474). So read the plan’s fact label before you click.

Renting? The same steps apply in most apartments. Our guide to electricity for apartments shows how to match a plan to your lease. To learn what the plan will cost, our fact label guide takes about 2 minutes.

Keep readingMoving soon? Every step to set up power at a new home
04 · Your meter

What if your meter can’t be turned on remotely?

Then a crew has to come, and same-day becomes a rush order called a priority move-in. In Oncor’s and CenterPoint’s tariffs, it must reach the utility by 5 p.m. Central on a business day. It can cost extra.

Smart meterSwitched on from the utility’s office
  • Monday to Saturday, but not holidays
  • Oncor: order in by 7 p.m. Central for that day
  • Your company’s cut-off is the real deadline
Meter that needs a crewNo remote on-off switch
  • Business days only, Monday to Friday
  • Rush order: at the utility by 5 p.m. Central
  • Regular order: two business days ahead in Oncor’s area

Some meters can’t be switched from a distance. Oncor’s tariff calls one kind an AMS-M meter. It has every smart feature “except for remote disconnection and reconnection.” Others are older meters or meters with that switch turned off.

For these, Oncor needs a regular order at least two business days ahead. A same-day rush order must reach it by 5 p.m. Central on a business day. CenterPoint’s tariff filing uses the same 5 p.m. business-day rule for its meters that need a crew.

A regular start may cost nothing extra. Payless Power’s prepaid terms, for one, list a $0 move-in charge in Oncor, CenterPoint and AEP Texas areas. In TNMP’s area, it’s $54. A same-day request can still bring utility charges: Frontier’s moving page says “charges from the utility may apply.”

Not sure which meter you have? Ask when you call. TXU, for one, offers same-day service only to “customers with AMS meters,” meaning smart meters.

Brand-new home? The meter has to be installed first, and Oncor won’t do it until inspections and permits are done. Its tariff sets a regular new-meter move-in at two business days. Plan for that before moving day.

Next: the problems that stop a same-day start →

05 · Delays

What can stop your power from coming on today?

Eight problems can push a same-day start to a later day, from a missed cut-off to a hold on the address. Each one has a fix.

What can delay a same-day start, and what you can do, from company pages, Oncor’s tariff and PUCT rules
The problemWhat happensWhat you can do
You missed the cut-offYour start moves to the next day the company worksSign up anyway, so the order is in
It’s Sunday or a holidayNo same-day service; Oncor skips these days for smart-meter move-insSign up now and expect the next working day
A switch hold on the addressThe utility rejects the move-in, for example after meter tampering thereSend proof you’re a new resident, like a signed lease
Your credit check flags a problemThe company can ask for a deposit before service startsChoose prepaid. Being 65 or older (and current on power bills) or a certified family violence victim also counts as good credit by rule
You owe the same companyAfter a shut-off for nonpayment, it can ask you to pay what’s due firstPay, ask for a payment plan, or choose another company. See help paying your bill
Your meter needs a crewSame-day only as a weekday rush order, which can cost extraCall the company before 5 p.m. Central
A brand-new homeThe meter waits for inspections and permitsPlan for at least two business days
Austin, San Antonio or a co-op areaYou can’t pick a company, so these cut-offs don’t applyCall the city utility or co-op: see Austin Energy or CPS Energy

From the companies’ own pages, Oncor’s tariff and 16 TAC §25.126 and §25.478. Read October 14, 2026.

How to clear a switch hold fast

A switch hold is a block the utility puts on an address. After meter tampering, Texas rules say it must stop move-ins there until a new resident proves they’re new. Your new company collects proof that you’re new, like a signed lease, a landlord’s sworn statement or closing papers. You also sign a statement that you aren’t tied to the last resident.

Once the utility has the request and papers, it gets four business hours to decide (16 TAC §25.126). Payless Power says removal requests sent before 1 p.m. on a utility working day are done by 8 p.m. that day.

Cut-offs differ, so when one company has closed for the day, another may still be open.

06 · No credit check

Can you get same-day power with no deposit or credit check?

Yes, with a prepaid plan. Pogo Energy, Payless Power and Now Power say they run no credit check, and Texas’s prepaid rule bans deposits. It also caps a home’s starting balance at $75.

$0Deposit a prepaid plan can charge you
$75Most it can ask a home for as a starting balance
1 hourTime it has to ask the utility to reconnect you after you pay up

These limits come from the state’s prepaid rule, 16 TAC §25.498. Pogo Energy asks for $60 for same-day service. Now Power says its smart meter plan needs a first payment but doesn’t list the amount on its FAQ. the same-day clock still applies: Pogo and Payless use 6 p.m., and Now Power uses 5 p.m.

Payless Power asks for $40 to start, and that money goes onto your balance. But skipping the credit check can cost more per kWh. On October 14, 2026, Payless Power’s 12-month prepaid plan in Oncor’s area was 17.5¢ per kWh at 1,000 kWh on Power to Choose. Its 12-month postpaid plan, which needs a credit check, was 15.0¢. At 1,000 kWh a month, that gap is about $300 a year.

Payless Power’s two 12-month plans in Oncor’s area: price per kWh at 1,000 kWh a month, Power to Choose, October 14, 2026
Prepaid
17.5¢
Postpaid
15.0¢

Prepaid has no credit check or deposit. Postpaid needs a credit check and may need a deposit. In CenterPoint’s area, the same plans were 17.3¢ and 14.7¢. Bars start at zero and end at 20¢.

A credit-check plan works differently. If you can’t show good credit, the company can ask for a deposit before your power goes on. By rule, it can reach one-fifth of a year’s bills or two months’ bills, whichever is more (16 TAC §25.478). With a $150 monthly bill, that’s up to $360.

Our no-deposit and prepaid guide covers deposit rules, refunds and what prepaid costs. For one prepaid company’s fees, read our Payless Power review. En español: luz sin depósito.

Prepaid can shut off when the balance runs low. The company must warn you at least one day ahead. It can’t cut you off for a low balance on a weekend day or during an extreme weather emergency. Keep a little extra money on the account.
07 · Quick answers

Same-day electricity, answered

Can I get electricity turned on today in Texas?

Usually, yes. With a smart meter, sign up before your company’s same-day cut-off on a Monday through Saturday that isn’t a holiday. On October 14, 2026, the 12 companies we list had cut-offs from 2 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Central.

What is the latest time to sign up for same-day power?

6:30 p.m. is the latest we found. TXU and 4Change Energy offer same-day service to customers with smart (AMS) meters who sign up before 6:30 p.m. Reliant, Cirro, Discount Power, Direct Energy, Pogo Energy and Payless Power use 6 p.m.

Can I get my power turned on on a Sunday?

Not the same day. None of the 12 companies we checked lists Sunday as a same-day option. Oncor’s tariff doesn’t count Sundays as smart-meter move-in days either. Sign up anyway: Payless Power says Sunday orders are connected first thing the next morning.

How long after I sign up will the lights come on?

Often within hours, but there’s no set time. Payless Power says a home with a remote-ready smart meter is typically connected within 1 to 6 hours. 4Change says that on a chosen start date, power may come on any time from 8 a.m. to midnight.

What happens if I miss the cut-off?

Your start moves to the next day the company works. Reliant says late requests are connected the next business day. Direct Energy says your power can be on the following morning. Signing up late still gets your order in.

What is a priority move-in?

It’s a rush order for a home whose meter can’t be switched on remotely, so a crew must come. In Oncor’s area, the order must reach the utility by 5 p.m. Central on a business day. The utility can charge extra, and companies warn that such charges may apply to you.

What is a switch hold, and can it stop my move-in?

Yes, it can. A switch hold is a block on an address, for example after meter tampering. It stops move-ins until you prove you’re a new resident. A signed lease or closing papers can work, and the utility then has four business hours to decide.

Do no-credit-check companies offer same-day service?

Yes. Pogo Energy and Payless Power use a 6 p.m. cut-off, and Now Power uses 5 p.m., all Monday through Saturday. All three say they don’t run credit checks. See no-deposit and prepaid plans.

How much money do I need to start prepaid power today?

No more than $75 for a home. That’s the state’s cap on the starting balance for residential prepaid service. Payless Power asks for $40 and Pogo Energy for $60, and both amounts go onto your account balance.

Which same-day electricity companies serve Lubbock?

Eight of the 12 companies we list showed Lubbock plans on Power to Choose on October 14, 2026. They were TXU, Reliant, Cirro, Discount Power, Direct Energy, Gexa, Frontier and BKV Energy. We couldn’t confirm Payless Power, Pogo Energy, Now Power or 4Change Energy there, and we didn’t check Lubbock Power & Light’s own move-in rules, so ask about timing. More in our guide to Lubbock electricity.

My home was just built. Can I get power today?

Probably not. A new meter has to be installed, and Oncor won’t start until inspections and permits are done. Its tariff gives a regular new-meter move-in two business days.

My power still isn’t on. Who do I call?

Call the company you signed up with first, since it sent the order. If it can’t fix the problem, the Public Utility Commission of Texas takes complaints at 1-888-782-8477 or consumer@puc.texas.gov. Our guide to electricity company complaints shows how.

Where to next

What do you want to do next?

Every Texas guide, by topic

Every Texas guide lives on our Texas hub, and our price map compares average prices state by state.

Sources

Sources and updates

Sources (27)
  • TXU Energy, Move center, read October 14, 2026: same-day service for “customers with AMS meters who sign up before 6:30 p.m.”; flexible deposit options; phone 888-228-1144.
  • Reliant, Same-day electricity, read October 14, 2026: 6 p.m. Central cut-off, Monday through Saturday, not Sundays or holidays; late requests go to the next business day; utility charges may apply; prepaid plans typically have no credit check; phone 1-866-222-7100.
  • Direct Energy, Same-day electricity service in Texas, read October 14, 2026: sign up by 6 p.m.; late orders go to the next business day or the following morning; prepaid plans with no credit check; phone 1-855-461-1926.
  • Cirro Energy, Moving, moving FAQ and home page, read October 14, 2026: 6 p.m. Central for move-ins, Monday through Saturday except holidays, smart meter needed; deposit shown at sign-up; phone 1-844-358-3133.
  • Discount Power, Moving, read October 14, 2026: 6 p.m. Central, Monday through Saturday except holidays, smart meter needed; utility charges may apply; phone 1-877-455-4674.
  • Discount Power, Residential Terms of Service (PUCT Certificate No. 10177), read October 14, 2026: an initial deposit may be required before service if you can’t show satisfactory credit.
  • Pogo Energy, home page, FAQs, same-day page and contact page, read October 14, 2026: sign up and pay $60 before 6 p.m. Central; not Sundays or holidays; no credit checks or deposit; power often on within a few hours; serves Oncor, CenterPoint, AEP Central, AEP North and TNMP areas; phone 888-764-6669.
  • Payless Power, home page, FAQs, same-day page and no-deposit page, read October 14, 2026: fund the account before 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday; Sunday and holiday orders connect the next morning; orders after 5 p.m. may be delayed; the same-day page also lists weekday hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.; 1 to 6 hours with a remote-ready smart meter; connection times not guaranteed; switch-hold removal timing; $40 connection balance; no deposit or credit check on prepaid; phone (866) 963-9353.
  • Payless Power, prepaid terms of service, read October 14, 2026: move-in charge of $0.00 in AEP Texas Central, AEP Texas North, CenterPoint and Oncor areas and $54.00 in Texas-New Mexico Power’s area; utility charges passed through.
  • Now Power, Same-day electricity service and FAQs, read October 14, 2026: enroll before 5 p.m.; Monday through Saturday except national holidays; no credit check or deposit; first payment required; utilities named: Oncor, CenterPoint, AEP Texas and TNMP; phone 844-227-2648.
  • BKV Energy, Same-day electricity service, read October 14, 2026: applications before 3:30 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday only, not weekends or holidays; soft credit check; any deposit due before service starts; phone 1-855-258-4797.
  • 4Change Energy, service questions (FAQ), read October 14, 2026: sign up before 2 p.m. for a likely same-day start; call (855) 784-2426 before 5 p.m. for a priority request; on a chosen date, power may come on from 8 a.m. to midnight.
  • 4Change Energy, plan list for ZIP 75201, captured October 14, 2026: plans offered in Oncor’s area (Dallas), and its plan list for ZIP 77002 showed plans in CenterPoint’s area (Houston); both pages say same-day service is “available for customers with AMS meters who sign up before 6:30 p.m.” and not on Sundays or holidays.
  • Gexa Energy, same-day electricity guide and contact page, read October 14, 2026: requests before 2 p.m. Central, Monday through Friday; no weekends or holidays; credit check, deposit or deposit waiver; no same-day prepaid; customer service (866) 961-9399.
  • Frontier Utilities, Moving help, read October 14, 2026: requests after 2 p.m. (CST) go to the next business day; no weekend or holiday connections; utility charges may apply; phone 877-437-7442.
  • Public Utility Commission of Texas, Power to Choose plan list (export of all English listings), pulled October 14, 2026: which delivery areas each listed company offers plans in; Payless Power’s 12-month prepaid plan at 17.5¢ (Oncor) and 17.3¢ (CenterPoint) and its 12-month postpaid plan at 15.0¢ and 14.7¢, all at 1,000 kWh.
  • Public Utility Commission of Texas, Retail Electric Provider Complaint Scorecard, September 2026 release covering March 1 to August 31, 2026, read October 14, 2026: 5 of 5 for TXU Energy and BKV BPP Retail (BKV Energy); 4 of 5 for Reliant, Direct Energy and Gexa; 3 of 5 for Retail Energy Solutions (Frontier Utilities) and Value Based Brands (4Change); 2 of 5 for US Retailers (Cirro, Discount Power); 1 of 5 for Young Energy (Payless Power).
  • Oncor, Tariff for Retail Delivery Service (table of contents effective June 1, 2026), read October 14, 2026: an AMS operational day is “any day but Sunday or a holiday”; smart, AMS-M and older meters defined; hours and holidays (Section 3.18); service starts at a retailer’s request (Section 4.3.2.1).
  • Oncor, Common Transactions and Timelines (effective May 1, 2023), read October 14, 2026: smart-meter move-ins by 7 p.m. on an AMS operational day; crew meters by 5 p.m. on a business day, two business days ahead.
  • Public Utility Commission of Texas, Oncor tariff pages in Docket 53601, read October 14, 2026: the wording of the 7 p.m. smart-meter move-in rule, the 5 p.m. priority move-in rule and the two-business-day new-meter rule.
  • Public Utility Commission of Texas, CenterPoint tariff exhibit in Docket 56211, read October 14, 2026: 5 p.m. business-day rules for move-ins and priority move-ins at meters without a remote switch.
  • 16 TAC §25.474, Selection of Retail Electric Provider (Cornell LII), read October 14, 2026: the company sends move-ins to the registration agent; three federal business days to cancel a switch; no cancel right for a move-in.
  • 16 TAC §25.478, Credit Requirements and Deposits (Cornell LII), read October 14, 2026: deposit cap; deposit before service; age 65 and older and family violence as ways to show good credit; paying amounts due after a nonpayment shut-off.
  • 16 TAC §25.498, Prepaid Service (Cornell LII), read October 14, 2026: no deposits; $75 cap on a home’s starting balance; reconnect request within one hour; low-balance warning at least one day ahead; no weekend or extreme-weather shut-offs.
  • 16 TAC §25.126, Meter tampering and switch holds (Cornell LII), read October 14, 2026: switch holds stop move-ins; proof a new resident can send; four business hours to decide.
  • Public Utility Commission of Texas, complaint process and Office of Consumer Assistance, checked October 14, 2026: complaints at 1-888-782-8477 or consumer@puc.texas.gov.
  • City of Austin Utilities, Utility service, and CPS Energy, Moving, read October 14, 2026: Austin Customer Care 512-494-9400 and 888-340-6465, with phone hours, and fees and security deposits for new homes; CPS Energy’s First Connections line (210) 353-2222, a letter of reference for new customers and a possible deposit waiver for military families.
Changelog · last updated October 16, 2026 · 2 updates
  • October 16, 2026: Linked our new Killeen and Irving move-in guides. No figures changed. We also added our new city guides, four new company reviews and the Smart Meter Texas guide to the guide map.
  • October 14, 2026: Published.

How to cite this page: The Day Company, "Can you get electricity turned on today in Texas?", updated October 16, 2026, https://theday.company/tx/same-day-electricity.

This guide explains how same-day electric service works in Texas; it isn’t legal or financial advice. Cut-off times come from each company’s own website on October 14, 2026, and can change without notice, so confirm yours when you sign up. Ads and any partner referral fees help fund the site, but neither has any say in our scores or picks. The Day Company is not affiliated with any electric company named here.