Skip to content
National · 6 states + D.C.Solar installer reviewRecords checked Oct 2026

Solar Energy World review: a big warranty name, and what it covers.

Solar Energy World calls its warranty the “Triple Platinum 30-Year Warranty.” We read the fine print to see what is really written down. We also looked at its lease, its crews and what its customers complain about most.

Updated 8 min readBy The Day Company review team · How we score
No subcontractorsIts own employees install
BBB A+Accredited since 2023
24 of 30Complaints about slow replies
Short answer

It is a solid company with a few things to check. Solar Energy World earns 70 out of 100 on our public-records formula. Its own employees install, and it never hires subcontractors, it says. It has an A+ BBB grade and no class actions. But its 30-year warranty name hides labor and roof terms with no stated length. It posts no prices. Slow replies top its complaints.

Solar Energy World: key factsChecked October 7, 2026
  • Score70 of 100 on our formula. It does not sell in Texas, so it is not in our Texas ranking.
  • CompanySolar Energy World, LLC, based in Maryland. In business since 2009. It says it is part of Comcast.
  • InstallerIts own employees. It says it never hires subcontractors.
  • WarrantyThe “30-Year” name is a program name. Labor and roof-leak terms state no length. Power is guaranteed for 1 year.
  • LeaseSavings+: a 25-year rate lock, or a 5-year lock with increases capped at 2.49% a year.
  • Complaints38 in three years. Slow replies came up in 24 of the 30 newest.
  • BBBA+, accredited since October 26, 2023.
  • StatesMaryland, Virginia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Florida and Washington, D.C.

Built on public data from Solar Energy World’s own warranty, lease, license and company pages, federal court records, NABCEP and the Better Business Bureau. Checked October 2026.

01 · The warranty

What does the “Triple Platinum 30-Year Warranty” cover?

The 30-year part is the program name. The written labor and roof-leak terms do not say how long they last.

“Triple Platinum 30-Year Warranty”What the paperwork says
Labor (workmanship)CoveredNo length stated
Roof leaks from mountsCoveredNo length stated
Power guarantee1 year90% of estimate, or it pays double the gap
Panels and inverters30 yearsFrom the makers
New ownerTransfersAt no charge

Here is what we found on its warranty page. It covers labor and leaks from roof mounts, but gives no number of years for either. The panels and inverters carry 30-year warranties from their makers. If your first-year power comes in under 90% of the estimate, Solar Energy World pays double the shortfall. And the warranty moves to a new owner for free.

Without a stated length, our formula cannot give credit for the labor or roof terms. If you read “30 years” as covering everything, ask the company to put that in your contract.

02 · Lease calculator

Savings+ lease: see how your payment can grow

Its Savings+ lease locks your rate for 25 years, or for 5 years with capped increases after that. The difference adds up.

Lease payment calculator

See how a Savings+ lease payment can grow

Savings+ comes two ways. One locks your rate for 25 years. The other locks it for 5 years, then lets it rise up to 2.49% a year. Enter a starting payment to compare.

Year25-year lock5-year lock, then up to 2.49%

The second column shows the most the payment could rise, using the 2.49% cap. Your contract may differ, so check its numbers.

On a lease, the company owns the panels and you pay each month. A full 25-year lock keeps the payment flat. The 5-year option may start lower, but it can rise each year after that. The terms come from its Savings+ page.

03 · Service

The biggest complaint: slow replies

Solar Energy World answered all 30 of its newest BBB complaints. But 24 of them were about slow or missing replies.

24 of 30Newest BBB complaints that were about slow or no reply, January 2025 to August 2026.

One customer said the system stopped in April, and about eight emails went unanswered. Another canceled inside the refund window and was still waiting three weeks later. A third said permit and inspection delays pushed the install past year end, so they missed the 2025 tax credit.

Billing problems came up 14 times, and install delays came up 12 times. Some company replies came months late. The BBB has not flagged a pattern, so our formula takes no points. Still, ask how fast its service team answers.

04 · The score

How Solar Energy World scores 70

It earned full marks for its legal record, crews, time in business and BBB grade. Price and warranty paperwork cost it 28 points.

Solar Energy World missed 30 points. Price cost all 15: it posts no prices, shows no loan fees and has an outdated tax-credit line. Warranty terms cost 13: labor and roof-leak terms with no length, plus no outside backup. A missing equipment-maker certification cost 2.

Solar Energy World’s points in each category
Complaints, lawsuits and state actions
30 of 30
Contract and warranty terms
12 of 25
Price transparency
0 of 15
Who installs
12 of 12
Time in business
7 of 7
Certifications
4 of 6
BBB rating
5 of 5
How Solar Energy World earned each point
CategoryPointsThe record behind it
Complaints, lawsuits and state actions30 of 30Lawsuits, settlements and class actions (minus 10 each): 0 found
Investigation demands alone (minus 5 each): 0 found
BBB complaint-pattern alert (minus 8): No
Contract and warranty terms12 of 25Workmanship warranty (up to 7): None found in writing
Equipment warranties in writing (4): Yes
No court claims about fees or contracts (4): None found
Written production guarantee (4): Yes
Roof-leak warranty (up to 3): None found in writing
Warranty backup if the company closes (3): None stated
Price transparency0 of 15Its own published prices (6): No
Loan and dealer fees shown up front (5): No
Tax-credit claims match current law (4): No
Who installs12 of 12Own crews 12, mixed 6, partners only or not stated 0: Own crews
Time in business7 of 7Years in business (up to 7): 17 years
Certifications4 of 6NABCEP-certified installer on staff (4): Yes
Equipment-maker certification (2): None found
BBB rating5 of 5BBB letter grade: A+

We score every company the same way, using public records olny. Solar Energy World pays us nothing. Ads never change a score.

05 · Who installs

Its own employees install, and never subcontractors

Solar Energy World says its own employees do every install. That earns all 12 points for who installs.

Its about page says, “We never hire subcontractors.” It lists local install teams in Maryland, New Jersey, Virginia and Florida. NABCEP shows two of its Maryland people with the top installer credential.

We found no equipment-maker certification in its own words. Its site shows brand logos and says its installers get training from panel makers. It sells Tesla Powerwall and FranklinWH batteries.

06 · Tax credit

A tax-credit line that needs updating

An undated page on its site says incentives could cut the purchase price by 30%. For buyers, the 30% federal credit ended on December 31, 2025.

The line sits on its FAQ page. Its tax-credit page does not name the federal credit, and we found nothing that builds 30% into prices. Still, no 30% incentive exists for buyers now, so the line cost it 4 points. If a rep mentions a 30% cut, ask them to show what it is.

07 · Legal record

No class actions, and one closed robocall case

We found no state actions and no class actions over its sales since 2021.

One person sued over sales calls in Florida federal court in 2021. The case was dismissed in 2022, with no class. Two other federal cases in Maryland ended in 2025, and their subject is not stated. None counts in our formula, which looks at class actions and state actions. The Florida case is on CourtListener.

Solar Energy World also says it is a Comcast company, on its Savings+ page. A big parent is not the same as a warranty backup in writing.

08 · Where it sells

Six states plus Washington, D.C.

Solar Energy World lists six states and D.C. It does not sell in Texas.

  • Maryland
  • Virginia
  • New Jersey
  • Pennsylvania
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Washington, D.C.

Its license page lists numbers for each place it works. Some Maryland numbers on the BBB profile differ from its own page, so check them on your state’s license site.

We checked its licenses in other states in October 2026. Two Florida licenses on its license page, solar contractor CVC57091 and electrical contractor EC13009329, showed as delinquent and inactive on Florida’s license site, held by an individual rather than the company. Its New Jersey registration (13VH09812400) and Pennsylvania registration (PA135854) were active.

09 · Before you sign

Questions for a Solar Energy World rep

These four questions close the gaps on its warranty, price and service.

  1. How many years do labor and roof leaks last? Get the numbers in your contract.
  2. Which Savings+ option am I getting? Ask whether your rate is locked for 25 years or only 5.
  3. What is my total price and any loan fees? It posts no prices, so get them on paper.
  4. How fast does service reply? Slow replies lead its complaints.
10 · Questions

Solar Energy World questions, answered

Quick, sourced answers.

Is Solar Energy World a good company?

On public records, mostly yes. It scores 70 out of 100, with an A+ BBB grade, its own install crews and no class actions. Slow replies lead its complaints.

What does the Triple Platinum 30-Year Warranty cover?

Labor, roof leaks from mounts, a 1-year power guarantee and 30-year maker warranties on panels and inverters. The labor and roof terms state no length.

Does Solar Energy World use subcontractors?

No. It says it never hires subcontractors, and its own employees install.

What is the Savings+ lease?

A lease with two rate options: locked for 25 years, or locked for 5 years with yearly increases capped at 2.49%.

Does Solar Energy World guarantee production?

For the first year. If output is under 90% of the estimate, it pays double the shortfall.

Who owns Solar Energy World?

It says it is part of Comcast.

Where does Solar Energy World install?

In Maryland, Virginia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Florida and Washington, D.C.

Can I still get the 30% tax credit?

Not if you buy. The federal credit for buyers ended on December 31, 2025.

Sources

Sources and updates

Sources (11)
  • Solar Energy World, Warranty: program name, labor and leak coverage, 1-year power guarantee, transfer at no charge.
  • Solar Energy World, Savings+: 25-year or 5-year rate lock, increases capped at 2.49%; Comcast subsidiary.
  • Solar Energy World, About us: founded in 2009; never hires subcontractors.
  • Solar Energy World, FAQs: incentives could cut the purchase price by 30% (undated).
  • Solar Energy World, Licensing: license numbers by state.
  • Solar Energy World, Solar by state: six states and Washington, D.C.
  • U.S. District Court, Middle District of Florida (via CourtListener), Zimmerman v. Solar Energy World: an individual sales-call case, dismissed in 2022.
  • Better Business Bureau (nonprofit), Solar Energy World profile: A+, accredited since October 26, 2023.
  • Better Business Bureau (nonprofit), Solar Energy World complaints: 38 in three years; we read the 30 newest, January 8, 2025, to August 2, 2026.
  • NABCEP, the solar certification board, Certified professionals directory: two Solar Energy World PV Installation Professionals in Maryland.
  • Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, License search: CVC57091 and EC13009329 delinquent, inactive since August 31, 2026, checked October 7, 2026.
Changelog · last updated October 7, 2026 · 1 update
  • October 7, 2026: Published, with Solar Energy World’s score of 70 out of 100, a warranty breakdown and a lease payment calculator.

How to cite this page: The Day Company review team, “Solar Energy World review: a big warranty name, and what it covers.,” The Day Company, updated October 7, 2026, https://theday.company/solar-reviews/solar-energy-world.

Solar Energy World pays us nothing, and we earn nothing if you hire it. Lease terms come from its own page; your contract decides.