Skip to content
National · 27 statesSolar installer reviewRecords checked Oct 2026

Palmetto review: your warranty depends on how you pay.

Palmetto gives its best promises to people on its LightReach lease plans. People who buy get less. We lay out both, show what Palmetto charges and help you pick the path that fits.

Updated 8 min readBy The Day Company review team · How we score
10th in TexasOur Texas ranking
25 yearsWorkmanship on lease plans
~$2.83/WFrom its Texas estimate
Short answer

Yes, it’s a solid choice, especially on a lease plan. On our public-records formula, Palmetto earns 72 out of 100. That ranks it 10th of 20 in Texas. It has no lawsuits or state actions in five years, and it posts a price. Its LightReach plans come with a 25-year workmanship warranty and a 90% production guarantee. It lost the most points because partner companies do the installing. Buyers who pay cash or take a loan get a shorter warranty.

Palmetto: key factsChecked October 7, 2026
  • Score72 of 100. 10th of 20 in Texas.
  • Lease plansLightReach lease or PPA: 25 years of workmanship, 10 years on roof leaks and a 90% production guarantee.
  • BuyingCash or loan: 10 years of workmanship and 5 years on roof leaks. Terms may vary by state.
  • PriceA posted Texas estimate of $25,222 cash, or $114 a month on a lease, for an 8.91 kW system. That is about $2.83 a watt.
  • InstallerLocal partner companies, which Palmetto calls Build Partners.
  • BBBNo grade on its main file. A separate Phoenix file shows an F for 3 unanswered complaints.
  • LicenseTexas license EC-34752, held by Palmetto Solar, LLC. Active through September 16, 2027.
  • Footprint27 states, founded in 2010.

Built on public data from Palmetto’s own plan, warranty and price pages, the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, NABCEP, Solar Power World and the Better Business Bureau. Checked October 2026.

01 · How you pay

Why Palmetto’s warranty depends on how you pay

Palmetto sells solar two ways. Its LightReach lease and PPA plans carry its strongest promises. Cash and loan buyers get shorter ones.

With LightReach, Palmetto’s finance company owns the panels. You pay each month, either for the panels or for the power they make. That second kind is called a power purchase agreement, or PPA. If you pay cash or take a loan, you own the panels instead.

LightReach lease or PPAPalmetto owns the panels
  • Workmanship25 years
  • Roof leaks10 years
  • Production guarantee90% of estimate
  • You payMonthly
Cash or loanYou own the panels
  • Workmanship10 years
  • Roof leaks5 years
  • Production guaranteeNot stated
  • You payUp front or by loan

LightReach terms come from Palmetto’s plans overview and performance guarantee. Buyer terms come from its warranty help page, which says terms may vary by state.

Workmanship warranties cover the labor of putting the system in. A production guarantee promises a share of the power your system should make. On LightReach, Palmetto promises 90% of its estimate. For buyers, we found no written production guarantee.

We score Palmetto on its LightReach terms, because they are its best written offer. If you plan to buy, ask for your warranty in writing for your state.

02 · Plan picker

Lease or buy? Find the Palmetto path that fits you

Neither path is always better. The right one depends on what you want to own, how long you will stay and how you can pay.

Plan picker

Lease or buy? See which Palmetto path fits you.

Answer three questions. We will show the trade-offs for your answers. This is not a price quote or financial advice.

Pick your answers above.

On a lease or PPA, you don’t own the system. That can make a home sale harder, and most plans raise the payment a little each year. When you buy, you own the system and keep any value it adds to your home.

03 · The score

Palmetto’s 72: a clean record, held back by who installs

Palmetto earned full marks for its legal record and its time in business. Using partner installers cost it all 12 points in that area.

Palmetto missed 28 points in all. The biggest share, 12, came from who installs. It lost 6 more for certifications. We found no NABCEP-certified installer on staff, which is the top installer credential, and no equipment-maker certification. It lost 5 for not showing loan fees, 3 because no outside company backs its warranty and 2 because its main BBB file has no grade.

Palmetto’s points in each category
Complaints, lawsuits and state actions
30 of 30
Contract and warranty terms
22 of 25
Price transparency
10 of 15
Who installs
0 of 12
Time in business
7 of 7
Certifications
0 of 6
BBB rating
3 of 5
How Palmetto Solar earned each point
CategoryPointsThe record behind it
Complaints, lawsuits and state actions30 of 30Lawsuits, settlements and class actions (minus 10 each): 0 found
Investigation demands alone (minus 5 each): 0 found
BBB complaint-pattern alert (minus 8): No
Contract and warranty terms22 of 25Workmanship warranty (up to 7): 25 years
Equipment warranties in writing (4): Yes
No court claims about fees or contracts (4): None found
Written production guarantee (4): Yes
Roof-leak warranty (up to 3): 10 years
Warranty backup if the company closes (3): None stated
Price transparency10 of 15Its own published prices (6): Yes
Loan and dealer fees shown up front (5): No
Tax-credit claims match current law (4): Yes
Who installs0 of 12Own crews 12, mixed 6, partners only or not stated 0: Partner installers only
Time in business7 of 7Years in business (up to 7): 16 years
Certifications0 of 6NABCEP-certified installer on staff (4): None found
Equipment-maker certification (2): None found
BBB rating3 of 5BBB letter grade: NR

Every company is scored on the same formula, from public records only. No company pays us. Ads never change a score.

04 · Who installs

Who installs Palmetto systems? Local partners

Palmetto’s process pages say local partner companies do the installing. Palmetto calls them Build Partners.

Its help pages describe a “network of certified installers.” So Palmetto sells and finances the system, and another company puts it on your roof. One older FAQ says Palmetto installs under its Energy Plan, but its current process pages name partners.

This can work well, but it adds a handoff. If something leaks, you want to know who fixes it. Before you sign, ask for your installer’s company name and license number. Also ask whether Palmetto or the installer handles repairs.

05 · Price

Palmetto posts a price. Here’s what it tells you

For an 8.91 kW system in Texas, Palmetto posts an estimate of $25,222 cash, or $114 a month on a lease. That works out to about $2.83 a watt.

That is rare. Most solar companies won’t share any price before a sales visit. Palmetto’s Texas page shows a sample cash price and a sample lease payment for the same system. It says these are estimates, not your contract price.

How does $2.83 compare? It sits near the top of the posted prices we track. Our price estimator puts Palmetto next to Tesla, Project Solar and others for your system size.

One thing Palmetto does not show is loan fees. That cost it 5 points. Also, the 30% federal tax credit for buyers ended on December 31, 2025. Palmetto’s current pages say so, which earned it the 4 points for honest tax-credit claims.

Palmetto posts estimates for 30 states. Here they are side by side, from its own state pages marked “Updated: October 2026.” They come from its pricing model, not signed contracts, and the cash price is before any state incentive.

Palmetto posted solar estimates by state
StateSystem sizeCash pricePer wattLease per month
Arizona8.20 kW$23,405$2.85$105
California6.67 kW$19,288$2.89$88
Colorado6.56 kW$19,534$2.98$77
Connecticut9.46 kW$28,049$2.97$135
Florida10.53 kW$28,316$2.69$135
Georgia9.13 kW$25,329$2.77$102
Illinois9.84 kW$28,095$2.86$79
Indiana8.91 kW$26,559$2.98No lease shown
Kansas7.79 kW$23,524$3.02$91
Kentucky8.91 kW$26,559$2.98No lease shown
Maine8.50 kW$27,148$3.19$128
Maryland10.25 kW$29,165$2.85$124
Massachusetts9.03 kW$25,981$2.88$141
Michigan6.80 kW$21,521$3.16$78
New Hampshire9.24 kW$28,839$3.12$138
New Jersey9.02 kW$25,955$2.88$120
New Mexico6.15 kW$19,387$3.15$77
New York9.43 kW$27,968$2.97$102
North Carolina8.92 kW$24,802$2.78$103
Ohio8.36 kW$23,814$2.85$101
Oklahoma8.30 kW$24,076$2.90$94
Oregon7.48 kW$23,057$3.08No lease shown
Pennsylvania9.43 kW$26,082$2.77$113
Rhode Island7.38 kW$23,888$3.24$117
South Carolina7.38 kW$20,936$2.84$93
Texas8.91 kW$25,222$2.83$114
Vermont9.12 kW$27,141$2.98No lease shown
Virginia9.84 kW$27,111$2.76$115
West Virginia13.20 kW$37,525$2.84$168
Wisconsin11.11 kW$34,173$3.08$142

Cheapest per watt: Florida at $2.69. Highest: Rhode Island at $3.24.

06 · Complaints

348 complaints in three years: billing tops the list

We read the 30 newest complaints on Palmetto’s main BBB file. Palmetto answered all 30. Billing problems came up most.

These complaints run from July 20 to September 22, 2026. Here is how often the top problems came up:

Billing, loan or refund problems18
Slow or no response16
Sales promises not kept13
Other13
System not working or making less power12

Times each problem came up in the 30 newest complaints. One complaint can raise more than one problem.

One homeowner got past-due notices and late fees even though automatic payments were running. Another said calls about a weak system went unanswered for a month. A third was told bills woudl nearly vanish, but says they now pay about double.

Complaints only lower a score in our formula when the BBB flags a pattern. Palmetto’s main file has no such flag. Still, check your billing setup in the first few months.

07 · BBB

Two BBB files, two different pictures

Palmetto’s main BBB file, in Charlotte, has no letter grade. A separate file in Phoenix shows an F, for not answering 3 complaints.

The Better Business Bureau gives grades by location. Palmetto’s main file is not rated. That earns it 3 of 5 BBB points in our formula, the same as any company with no grade. The Phoenix file is separate. Its F is for unanswered complaints, not for a finding of wrongdoing. We score the main file and show the other so you have the full picture.

08 · Where it sells

27 states and an active Texas license

Palmetto sells solar in 27 states. Its Texas license is active.

Palmetto lists these states:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia

In Texas, Palmetto Solar, LLC holds license EC-34752, active through September 16, 2027. That puts it in our Texas ranking, 10th of 20. Since the partner company does your install, also check that company’s license on your state board’s website.

09 · Before you sign

Questions to ask before you pick a Palmetto plan

These questions fit whichever path you choose.

  1. Which warranty comes with my plan? Lease and buyer terms differ. Get yours in writing for your state.
  2. Who will install my system? Get the partner company’s name and license number.
  3. How much does my payment rise each year? On a lease or PPA, ask for the exact yearly increase.
  4. What happens if I sell my home? Ask how a lease moves to the buyer, or what owning adds at sale time.
  5. What are the loan fees? If you finance, ask for every fee on paper.
10 · Questions

Palmetto questions, answered

Short answers about Palmetto’s plans, prices and warranty.

Is Palmetto Solar legit?

Yes. It has an active Texas license, no lawsuits or state actions in five years and a posted price. Our formula gives it 72 out of 100.

What is Palmetto LightReach?

LightReach is Palmetto’s lease and PPA plan. Palmetto’s finance company owns the panels, and you pay monthly for them or for their power.

What warranty does Palmetto offer?

It depends on how you pay. LightReach plans get 25 years of workmanship, 10 years on roof leaks and a 90% production guarantee. Buyers get 10 years of workmanship and 5 years on roof leaks.

Does Palmetto guarantee production?

On LightReach plans, yes: 90% of its estimate. For cash or loan buyers, we found no written production guarantee.

How much does Palmetto solar cost?

Its Texas page shows an estimate of $25,222 cash, or $114 a month on a lease, for an 8.91 kW system. That is about $2.83 a watt.

Does Palmetto install its own systems?

No. Local partner companies, which Palmetto calls Build Partners, do the installing.

Why does Palmetto have an F on the BBB?

The F is on a separate Phoenix file, for not answering 3 complaints. Palmetto’s main BBB file, in Charlotte, has no grade.

Is Palmetto licensed in Texas?

Yes. Palmetto Solar, LLC holds Texas license EC-34752, active through September 16, 2027.

Sources

Sources and updates

Sources (12)
Changelog · last updated October 7, 2026 · 1 update
  • October 7, 2026: Published, with Palmetto’s score of 72 out of 100, a lease-versus-buy comparison and a plan picker.

How to cite this page: The Day Company review team, “Palmetto review: your warranty depends on how you pay.,” The Day Company, updated October 7, 2026, https://theday.company/solar-reviews/palmetto-solar.

Palmetto pays us nothing. We earn nothing if you sign with it. Its prices and plan terms change, so get yours in writing before you sign.